NALM Announces Results of 2016 Board Election

Chicago, IL – May 13, 2016

The National Association for Lay Ministry, the professional organization supporting, educating, and advocating for and promoting the development of lay ministry in the Catholic Church announced the results of its Board elections from April.

Nelsa EliasNelsa I. Elias, currently serves as the Facilitator for Participants, Faculty and Curriculum, for the Diocese of Brooklyn.  Nelsa brings more than 17 years of lay ministerial experience to the NALM Board.  In particular, Nelsa has served the needs of immigrants through ministering to immigrants as a Pastoral Associate, Director of Religious Formation, and in her current role within the Diocese of Brooklyn.  She is passionate about ministry to and reaching out to cultural groups under-represented or underserved.  She has served on NALM’s Intercultural Committee.  Nelsa is bilingual in English and Spanish.

Mark ErdosyMark Erdosy, was re-elected to the Board for a second term.  He serves as the Executive Director of the Rebuild My Church Program & Director of the San Damiano Scholars Program for Church Leadership at Marian University in the Archdiocese of Indianapolis.  Mark brings more than twenty years of experience in pastoral ministry, formation work, diocesan level work, and leadership experiences with the Catholic Campus Ministry Association, National Federation for Catholic Youth Ministry, and USCCB to the NALM Board. Previously, he has served NALM on a number of committees.

Bridget KlawitterDr. Bridget Klawitter serves as the Pastoral Associate at St. Leonard Parish in the Archdiocese of Milwaukee.  Bridgetmoved into parish ministry after a 30 plus year career in administration, counseling, and working with medical ethics.  She has served on numerous diocesan boards within the Archdiocese of Milwaukee.  Bridget will continue to support NALM’s efforts to promote Lay Ecclesial Ministry in the Church through chairing NALM’s Publicity Committee.


The Board of Directors for NALM for the 2016-17 are:

  • David Amico, Diocese of Albany
  • Kathy Bardull, Board Treasurer
  • Linda Cunha-Ricchio, Diocese of San Jose, Board, Vice Chair
  • Nelsa Elias, Diocese of Brooklyn
  • Mark Erdosy, Marian University, Archdiocese of Indianapolis, Board, Chair
  • Mark Hoggard, Diocese of Richmond, Board Secretary
  • Bridget Klawitter, Archdiocese of Milwaukee
  • Carol Walters, Archdiocese of Chicago, Immediate Past Board Chair
  • Most Rev. John C. Wester, Archdiocese of Santa Fe, Episcopal Moderator